The library was completed in 1733 at the same time as the south wing. The book cabinets possess richly carved, gold-plated frame fixtures. The images on the fixtures portray the four evangelists, as well as the Latin and Greek church fathers. They were created by Martin Johann Schmidt (or his workshop), known locally as "Kremser Schmidt".
The decorative wall and ceiling paintings probably originate from the workshop of Josef Adam Mölk, who resided in Maria Langegg (possibly for this purpose) in September 1782. They were enhanced and partially renovated in the 19th and 20th centuries. The great lectern in the middle is decorated with a fixture featuring a group of crosses.
WHAT DID THE SERVITES READ?
The inventory provides insight into the intellectual world of the monastery. It contains 6,658 books from the period from 1566 to 1970. Some 70% of these are religious and liturgical books (bibles, sermon collections, catechisms, missals, antiphonaries etc.).
In addition, the diversity of subjects attests to the wide-ranging interests of the Servites. Alongside dictionaries, grammar books and lexicons, the library also holds scientific works, especially on the subjects of physics and mathematics, as well as historical, geographical and gardening books, and novels and almanacs.
The room as a whole is a unique ensemble presenting a vivid picture of monastic librarianship.