Logo Maria Langegg choose language   
German version    English version   
HOME MARIA LANGEGG THE PARISH PILGRIMAGE THE CHURCH CONTACT
   PILGRIMAGE MUSEUM
   LIBRARY
   TREASURY
   TOURS
   PILGRIM SHOP
   SPECIAL EXHIBITIONS
   OPENING HOURS &
 CONTACT

Museumsbibliothek 2008

Serviten in der Klosterbibliothek
THE MONASTERY LIBRARY - A CHARMING ENSEMBLE
The library was completed in 1733 at the same time as the south wing. The book cabinets possess richly carved, gold-plated frame fixtures. The images on the fixtures portray the four evangelists, as well as the Latin and Greek church fathers. They were created by Martin Johann Schmidt (or his workshop), known locally as "Kremser Schmidt".

The decorative wall and ceiling paintings probably originate from the workshop of Josef Adam Mölk, who resided in Maria Langegg (possibly for this purpose) in September 1782. They were enhanced and partially renovated in the 19th and 20th centuries. The great lectern in the middle is decorated with a fixture featuring a group of crosses.

WHAT DID THE SERVITES READ?

The inventory provides insight into the intellectual world of the monastery. It contains 6,658 books from the period from 1566 to 1970. Some 70% of these are religious and liturgical books (bibles, sermon collections, catechisms, missals, antiphonaries etc.).

In addition, the diversity of subjects attests to the wide-ranging interests of the Servites. Alongside dictionaries, grammar books and lexicons, the library also holds scientific works, especially on the subjects of physics and mathematics, as well as historical, geographical and gardening books, and novels and almanacs.

The room as a whole is a unique ensemble presenting a vivid picture of monastic librarianship.

Logo Maria Langegg Sprachauswahl   
Deutsche Version    Englische Version   
STARTSEITE MARIA LANGEGG DIE PFARRE WALLFAHRT DIE KIRCHE KONTAKT
   WALLFAHRTSMUSEUM
   BIBLIOTHEK
   SCHATZKAMMER
   FÜHRUNGEN
   PILGERLADEN
   SONDERAUSSTELLUNGEN
   ÖFFNUNGSZEITEN &
 KONTAKT

Museumsbibliothek 2008

Serviten in der Klosterbibliothek
DIE KLOSTERBIBLIOTHEK - EIN REIZVOLLES ENSEMBLE
Die Bibliothek wurde gemeinsam mit dem Südtrakt 1733 fertig gestellt. Die Bücherschränke besitzen reich geschnitzte und vergoldete Rahmenaufsätze. Die Aufsatzbilder zeigen die vier Evangelisten sowie die lateinischen und griechischen Kirchenväter. Sie wurden von Martin Johann Schmidt, genannt der "Kremser Schmidt" bzw. seiner Werkstatt geschaffen.

Die dekorativen Wand und Deckenmalereien stammen wohl ursprünglich aus der Werkstatt Josef Adam Mölks, der sich - vielleicht deshalb - im September 1782 in Maria Langegg aufhielt. Sie wurden im 19. und 20. Jahrhundert ergänzt und teilweise erneuert. Das große Lesepult mittig ist mit einer Kreuzaufsatzgruppe gestaltet.

WAS LASEN DIE SERVITEN?

Der Buchbestand gewährt Einblicke in die geistige Welt des Klosters. Er umfasst 6.658 Bücher aus der Zeit von 1566 bis 1970. Etwa 70% davon sind religiöse und liturgische Bücher (Bibeln, Predigtsammlungen, Katechismen, Messbücher, Antiphonare...).

Darüber hinaus zeugt eine große thematische Vielfalt von den breit gestreuten Interessen der Serviten. Neben Wörter-, Grammatikbüchern und Lexika finden sich auch naturwissenschaftliche Werke besonders zur Physik und Mathematik, weiters Geschichts-, Geographie- und Gartenbücher sowie Romane und Volkskalender.

Der Raum ist in seiner Gesamtheit ein einzigartiges Ensemble und stellt das klösterliche Bibliothekswesen anschaulich dar.