Logo Maria Langegg choose language   
German version    English version   
HOME MARIA LANGEGG THE PARISH PILGRIMAGE THE CHURCH CONTACT
   PILGRIMAGE MUSEUM
   LIBRARY
   TREASURY
   TOURS
   PILGRIM SHOP
   SPECIAL EXHIBITIONS
   OPENING HOURS &
 CONTACT

Exponate im Wallfahrtsmuseum

Exponate im Wallfahrtsmuseum
"MARY, SALVATIOON OF THE SICK" - PILGRIMAGE MUSEUM MARIA LANGEGG
THE MUSEUM

Maria Langegg has an eventful history, and shortly after its foundation it became the destination of many people seeking help. Around the year 1600, Langegg was a Catholic island in a Protestant environment. The Salzburg archiepiscopal administrator, Matthäus Häring, held office in the Langeggerhof. When his daughter recovered from a serious illness, he built a chapel and put on display the image of the Virgin Mary before which he had prayed. It would soon receive many visitors.

The Habsburgs, monasteries and loyal noblemen supported the pilgrimage, and in 1645 they brought to Langegg the Servites, who subsequently built the monastery. Prior to the completion of the church in 1773, "Mary, Salvation of the Sick" had already become one of the most important pilgrimage sites in the country, and 39,000 pilgrims made the journey in 1739!

In 1974, the Servites left Maria Langegg and conferred the parish to the diocese of St.Pölten. In recent times the monastery has served as a residence of the Community of the Beatitudes.

The diocese of St. Pölten, under the stewardship of the diocese conservator Dr. Johannes Kronbichler, investigated and inventoried the collection. It was decided to build a pilgrimage museum using funds from the EU regional support programme LEADER+, state provisions and their own resources. The plan, developed by the office for museum planning and consulting, made accessible an ensemble comprising the church, monastery and surrounding area.

Thus a pilgrimage museum was built next to the church; this museum tells the history using all essential artistic and cultural objects. Through documents and votive images from the 17th to the 20th centuries, a tour of the museum reveals the diverse tradition of the pilgrimage of parishes, communities and private individuals seeking help in the face of the plague threat, natural disasters and personal tragedies.

The great paintings from the Baroque period, donated during community pilgrimages following catastrophes, also show historical views of cities and towns. Roller blinds protect them from direct sunlight and also provide information in picture and text form. Central themes range from the religious and political situation in Lower Austria around 1600, the origins and development of the pilgrimage and local pilgrimage customs, through to the rich material culture of devotional objects and votive gifts.

From the oratory you are rewarded with a view into the beautiful fresco-adorned church; the room is regularly used for special exhibitions.

Additional rooms in the museum can be viewed with a guide, including the library with the decorative wall paintings and late Baroque decoration, as well as the treasury with the votive gifts.

Logo Maria Langegg Sprachauswahl   
Deutsche Version    Englische Version   
STARTSEITE MARIA LANGEGG DIE PFARRE WALLFAHRT DIE KIRCHE KONTAKT
   WALLFAHRTSMUSEUM
   BIBLIOTHEK
   SCHATZKAMMER
   FÜHRUNGEN
   PILGERLADEN
   SONDERAUSSTELLUNGEN
   ÖFFNUNGSZEITEN &
 KONTAKT

Exponate im Wallfahrtsmuseum

Exponate im Wallfahrtsmuseum
"MARIA, HEIL DER KRANKEN" - WALLFAHRTSMUSEUM MARIA LANGEGG
DAS MUSEUM

Maria Langegg hat eine bewegte Geschichte und wurde bald nach der Gründung Ziel vieler Hilfesuchender. Langegg war um 1600 eine katholische Insel in protestantischem Umfeld. Im Langeggerhof amtierte der erzbischöflich-salzburgische Verwalter Matthäus Häring. Als seine Tochter von einer schweren Krankheit genas, errichtete er eine Kapelle und stellte das Marienbild, vor dem er gebetet hatte auf. Es wurde bald viel besucht.

Die Habsburger, Stifte und loyale Adelige förderten die Wallfahrt und holten 1645 die Serviten nach Langegg, die die Klosteranlage errichteten. Bereits vor der Fertigstellung der Kirche 1773 wurde "Maria, Heil der Kranken" zu einer der bedeutendsten Pestwallfahrten des Landes (1739: 39.000 Wallfahrer!).

1974 verließen die Serviten Maria Langegg und übergaben die Pfarre der Diözese St. Pölten. In jüngster Zeit dient das Kloster als Niederlassung der Gemeinschaft der Seligpreisungen.

Die Diözese St. Pölten erforschte und inventarisierte unter der Leitung von Diözesankonservator Dr. Johannes Kronbichler die Sammlung und beschloss den Ausbau eines Wallfahrtsmuseums aus Mitteln des EU-Regionalförderprogrammes LEADER+, Landesgeldern und Eigenmitteln. Das Konzept des Büro für Museumskonzepte und -beratung erschloss das Ensemble von Kirche, Kloster und Umgebung.

So ist neben der Kirche ein Wallfahrtsmuseum entstanden, das die Geschichte mit allen wesentlichen Kunst- und Kulturobjekten darstellt. Ein Museumsgang zeigt in Urkunden und Votivbildern des 17. bis 20. Jhs. die vielfältige Tradition der Wallfahrt von Pfarren, Gemeinden und privaten Hilfesuchenden, von der Pestbedrohung bis hin zu Naturkatastrophen und persönlichen Schicksalen.

Die großen Gemälde der Barockzeit wurden nach Katastrophen im Rahmen von Gemeinschaftswallfahrten dargebracht und zeigen auch historische Orts- und Stadtansichten. Rollos schützen vor direkter Sonneneinstrahlung und liefern gleichzeitig Bild- und Textinformationen. Der rote Faden reicht von der politisch-konfessionellen Situation in Niederösterreich um 1600, der Entstehung und Entwicklung der Wallfahrt über die örtlichen Wallfahrtsbräuche bis zur reichen materiellen Kultur an Devotionalien und Votivgaben.

Im Oratorium kann man einen Blick in die prachtvolle freskengeschmückte Kirche machen, der Raum wird immer wieder für Sonderausstellungen genutzt.

Als weitere Räume des Museums sind die Bibliothek mit den dekorativen Wandmalereien und der spätbarocken Einrichtung, so wie die Schatzkammer mit den Votivgaben mit Führung zu besichtigen.