Logo Maria Langegg choose language   
German version    English version   
HOME MARIA LANGEGG THE PARISH PILGRIMAGE THE MUSEUM CONTACT
   FOUNDING HISTORY
   THE FRESCOES
   THE ORGAN
   TOURS
   CONTACT

Kirchen-Innenraum
MARIA LANGEGG - FOUNDING HISTORY
Around the year 1600, Langegg was a Catholic island in a Protestant environment. The Salzburg archiepiscopal administrator, Matthäus Häring, held office in the Langeggerhof. When his daughter recovered from a serious illness, he built a chapel and put on display the image of the Virgin Mary before which he had prayed. It would soon receive many visitors.

The Habsburgs, monasteries and loyal noblemen supported the pilgrimage, and in 1645 they brought to Langegg the Servites, who subsequently built the monastery. Prior to the completion of the church in 1773, "Mary, Salvation of the Sick" had already become one of the most important pilgrimage sites in the country, and 39,000 pilgrims made the journey in 1739!

In 1974, the Servites left Maria Langegg and conferred the parish to the diocese of St.Pölten. In recent times the monastery has served as a residence of the Community of the Beatitudes.

From the perspective of art history, the church of Maria Langegg is the most important member of the Maria Langegg ensemble. The church was re-erected in 1765, following the razing of the first church, and was completed in 1773. The presbytery, the so-called "original chapel", still remains from the old church, whilst the old high altar has been retained.

On site you will find a portable information table which will accompany you on four thematic tours around the church.

Logo Maria Langegg Sprachauswahl   
Deutsche Version    Englische Version   
STARTSEITE MARIA LANGEGG DIE PFARRE WALLFAHRT DAS MUSEUM KONTAKT
   GRÜNDUNGSGESCHICHTE
   DIE FRESKEN
   DIE ORGEL
   FÜHRUNGEN
   KONTAKT

Kirchen-Innenraum
MARIA LANGEGG
Langegg war um 1600 eine katholische Insel in protestantischem Umfeld. Im Langeggerhof amtierte der erzbischöflich-salzburgische Verwalter Matthäus Häring. Als seine Tochter von einer schweren Krankheit genas, errichtete er eine Kapelle und stellte das Marienbild, vor dem er gebetet hatte auf. Es wurde bald viel besucht.

Die Habsburger, Stifte und loyale Adelige förderten die Wallfahrt und holten 1645 die Serviten nach Langegg, die die Klosteranlage errichteten. Bereits vor der Fertigstellung der Kirche 1773 wurde "Maria, Heil der Kranken" zu einer der bedeutendsten Pestwallfahrten des Landes (1739: 39.000 Wallfahrer!).

1974 verließen die Serviten Maria Langegg und übergaben die Pfarre der Diözese St. Pölten. In jüngster Zeit dient das Kloster als Niederlassung der Gemeinschaft der Seligpreisungen.

Die Kirche von Maria Langegg ist der kunsthistorisch bedeutsamste Bestandteil des Ensembles Maria Langegg. Die Kirche wurde nach der Abtragung der ersten Kirche ab 1765 neu errichtet und war 1773 fertig gestellt. Von der alten Kirche steht heute noch das Presbyterium, es ist die sogenannte "Ursprungskapelle"", der alte Hochaltar ist noch erhalten.

Holen Sie sich vor Ort eine tragbare Tafel, die Sie auf vier thematischen Rundgängen durch die Kirche begleitet.