Logo Maria Langegg choose language   
German version    English version   
HOME MARIA LANGEGG THE PARISH THE CHURCH THE MUSEUM CONTACT
   ORIGINS OF THE
 PILGRIMAGE
   THEME WALK
   WAY OF ST JAMES
   PILGRIMAGE COMMUNITIES

Gnadenbild
THE "MARY, SALVATION OF THE SICK" PILGRIMAGE
Around the year 1600, the Salzburg archiepiscopal dominion of Arnsdorf belonged to the few Catholic "islands" in a largely Protestant region. Its administrator Matthäus Häring held office in the grand Langeggerhof. When his daughter was taken seriously ill in 1604, he vowed before a picture of the Virgin Mary to build a chapel if his child should recover. The following year he fulfilled his pledge and put the image of Mary on display for public veneration. Soon it would be visited regularly by pilgrims.

At the time of the counter-reformation, the Langegger pilgrimage was supported by the Habsburgs. Important personages showed their reverence to the pilgrimage by offering donations, not least to demonstrate their loyalty to the imperial family as well. In 1631 a small church was consecrated. In 1645, at the behest of Emperor Ferdinand III., Servites came to Langegg, and soon they began the task of erecting a monastery. The west wing of the monastery was built in 1654, followed by the north wing in 1682 and the south wing in 1733. In 1773 master builder Michael Ehmann completed the new church. Its picturesque interior is mainly the work of Josef Adam Mölk (1714-1794).

During the plague outbreaks of 1630, 1634, 1646-50, 1679-81 and 1714, "Mary, Salvation of the Sick" became one of the most important plague pilgrimage sites in the country. Pilgrimages also flourished in the 18th century. In 1739, at the height of popularity, 39,000 pilgrims participated.

Under Emperor Joseph II., Langegg, together with villages belonging to the parishes of Arnsdorf and Gansbach, became an independent friars' parish in 1783 and was conferred to the Servites. Pilgrimage was banned, only to soon be resurrected. In 1913 more than 12,000 received communion, including 90 closed processions.

In 1974 the Servites left Maria Langegg and conferred the parish to the diocese St.Pölten. The monastery building served as a homemakers' school of the Institute of the Blessed Virgin Mary ("English Maidens") between 1980 and 1990, then as the diocese' institute of education and from 1993 as the residence of the Community of the Beatitudes.

Logo Maria Langegg Sprachauswahl   
Deutsche Version    Englische Version   
STARTSEITE MARIA LANGEGG DIE PFARRE DIE KIRCHE DAS MUSEUM KONTAKT
   ENTSTEHUNG DER
 WALLFAHRT
   THEMENWEG
   JAKOBSWEG
   WALLFAHRTSGEMEINDEN

Gnadenbild
DIE WALLFAHRT "MARIA, HEIL DER KRANKEN"
Um 1600 gehörte die salzburgisch-erzbischöfliche Herrschaft Arnsdorf zu den wenigen katholischen "Inseln" in einer protestantisch gesinnten Gegend. Ihr Verwalter Matthäus Häring amtierte im stattlichen Langeggerhof. Als seine Tochter 1604 schwer erkrankte, gelobte er vor einem Marienbild, eine Kapelle zu bauen, wenn sein Kind genesen sollte. Im folgenden Jahr löste er sein Gelöbnis ein und stellte das Marienbild zur öffentlichen Verehrung auf. Es wurde bald häufig von Wallfahrern besucht.

Zur Zeit der Gegenreformation wurde die Langegger Wallfahrt von den Habsburgern gefördert. Hochgestellte Persönlichkeiten bedachten sie mit Schenkungen, nicht zuletzt auch, um ihre Loyalität zum Kaiserhaus zu demonstrieren. 1631 wurde eine kleine Kirche eingeweiht. Auf Empfehlung Kaiser Ferdinand III. kamen 1645 die Serviten nach Langegg, die bald mit der Errichtung einer Klosteranlage begannen. 1654 wurde der Westflügel des Klosters errichtet, 1682 folgte der Nord-, 1733 der Südtrakt. 1773 vollendete Baumeister Michael Ehmann die neue Kirche. Ihre malerische Ausstattung stammt großteils von Josef Adam Mölk (1714-1794).

In den Pestjahren 1630, 1634, 1646-50, 1679-81 und 1714 wurde "Maria, Heil der Kranken" zu einer der bedeutendsten Pestwallfahrten des Landes. Auch im 18. Jahrhundert florierte die Wallfahrt. Als Höhepunkt gilt das Jahr 1739 mit 39.000 Wallfahrern.

Unter Kaiser Joseph II. wurde Langegg 1783 mit Ortschaften der Pfarren Arnsdorf und Gansbach eine selbständige Ordenspfarre und den Serviten übertragen. Die Wallfahrt wurde verboten, lebte aber bald wieder auf. Im Jahr 1913 zählte man 12.000 Kommunionempfänger, darunter 90 geschlossene Prozessionen.

1974 verließen die Serviten Maria Langegg und übergaben die Pfarre der Diözese St. Pölten. Das Klostergebäude diente 1980-1990 als Haushaltungsschule der Englischen Fräulein, dann als Bildungshaus der Diözese und ab 1993 als Niederlassung der Gemeinschaft der Seligpreisungen.