Logo Maria Langegg choose language   
German version    English version   
HOME THE PARISH PILGRIMAGE THE CHURCH THE MUSEUM CONTACT
   MARIA LANGEGG
   3D PANORAMA
   DATES / NEWS
   ARRIVAL
   DUNKELSTEIN FOREST
   THE WACHAU
   DINING

Impressionen aus der Wachau

Kartause Aggsbach Foto: © Gerald Knobloch
SURROUNDING AREA - THE WACHAU
The Wachau is a 36-km stretch of the Danube river valley. It is characterised by its many picturesque villages and towns, its extraordinary diversity of natural and cultural landscapes, as well as by the dry stone wall terraces on which the world famous vines grow.

The Wachau was awarded the Council of Europe's Nature Conservation Diploma in 1994, and was designated a UNESCO world heritage site in 2000.

Regional collaboration among the 13 Wachau municipalities, other important institutions as well as approx. 350 residents and friends of the region is coordinated by the Arbeitskreis Wachau regional development group. Its mission is the preservation and enhancement of the region's unique landscape.

In addition, the Arbeitskreis Wachau coordinates regional policy and makes use of diverse European and national funding instruments, such as LEADER and LIFE nature. In recognition of nature conservation efforts, the group was awarded the Dr. Erwin Pröll Future Prize in 2008.

Maria Langegg is an ideal starting point for visits to other significant attractions in the Wachau, such as the Aggstein Castle ruins or the Aggsbach-Dorf Charterhouse.

Further information on the Wachau as a travel destination.

Logo Maria Langegg Sprachauswahl   
Deutsche Version    Englische Version   
STARTSEITE DIE PFARRE WALLFAHRT DIE KIRCHE DAS MUSEUM KONTAKT
   MARIA LANGEGG
   3D PANORAMA
   ORGELKONZERTE
   ANREISE
   DUNKELSTEINERWALD
   DIE WACHAU
   GASTRONOMIE

Impressionen aus der Wachau

Kartause Aggsbach Foto: © Gerald Knobloch
UMGEBUNG - DIE WACHAU
Die Wachau ist ein 36 km langes Flusstal an der Donau. Sie wird geprägt durch die vielen sehenswerten Dörfer und Städte, die außergewöhnliche Vielfalt an Natur- und Kulturlandschaft sowie die Trockensteinmauerterrassen, auf denen der weltberühmte Wein wächst.

Die Wachau ist als Landschaft seit 1994 mit dem Europäischen Naturschutzdiplom des Europarats sowie seit 2000 als UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe ausgezeichnet.

Die regionale Zusammenarbeit der 13 Wachaugemeinden, weiterer wichtiger Institutionen sowie ca. 350 BewohnerInnen und Freunden der Region wird vom Arbeitskreis Wachau koordiniert. Dessen Aufgabe ist die Bewahrung und Weiterentwicklung dieser einzigartigen Landschaft.

Dazu koordiniert der Arbeitskreis Wachau die regionale Politik und bedient sich diverser europäischer und nationaler Förderinstrumente, wie LEADER und LIFE Natur. Die Naturschutzarbeit des Arbeitskreises wurde 2008 mit dem Dr. Erwin Pröll-Zukunftspreis ausgezeichnet.

Maria Langegg eignet sich als Ausgangspunkt insbesondere für weitere wichtige Sehenswürdigkeiten der Wachau, wie Burgruine Aggstein oder die Kartause Aggsbach Dorf.

Weitere Informationen zur Wachau als Reiseziel.